South west Lithuania, on the Sesupe river. It is often referred to as the capital of Suduva. Mariampol is the centre of an administrative district with a population of approximatly 52.100. The name of the town originates from the monastery of Marian Fathers once established in the area. The town was first mentioned in historic documents in 1667.
Marijampole has an interesting local lore museum and a Forest museum in Kazlu Ruda township. Border crossing has been recently reopened in another town of the district Kalvaria. The environs of Mariampol boast at least 16 mounds of national significance as well as the Zuvintas Nature Reserve.
The history of Mariampol Town dates back to the 17th century. In 1792, the King of Rzeczpospolita Stanislaw Augustus granted the rights of Magdeburg, coat of arms and the name of Mariampol to Starapole and Mariampol townships.
Mariampol is the 7th largest town of Lithuania, observing distinctive Catholic traditions. Since 1994, it has functioned as the county centre.