Mogilew is one of the oldest towns of the current Republic of Belarus, in the olden times it was part of the Polish province of Polesie. It arose more than 7 centuries ago. In 1267 a castle was founded on a high hill, where the Dubrowenki River flows into the Dnieper River. During the following centuries the town formed around the castle. In the 18th century Mohylew was transformed into a large trade centre.
Monuments of the architecture of Mohylew of the 17th and18th centuries are vary by their styles. Nikolayevskaya Church built in 1669 is situated to the east from the centre of the town. It is distinguished with its unique carved wooden iconos. Stanislaw's Catholic Church is situated in the centre of Mogilew. It's a building of wooden construction of the middle of the 18th century. Frescos which cover arches of the church, have the great artistic value. George Konisski's palace is another of the city's historical architectural sights. A wooden temple from the middle of the 17th century also attracts visitors by its unusual structure.
Many dwelling houses and buildings of the end of the 18th and19th centuries also were kept in Mohylew. The villages of Dashkowka and Saltanowka are the sites of battles of the Bagration's army against Napoleon. On 22 to 23 of July 1812 the corps of the Lieutenant-General Rajevski fought against the French army, which was commanded by Daveau. In 1912 a monument chapel was set up to commemorate the Russian divisions and regiments which took part in the battle.
A memorial complex, devoted to the victory of Russia over Sweden (the Northern War in 1708), was erected near the village Lesnaja. A bronze eagle , which tears at the enemy's flag and spreads it's wings on a granite rock. A monument was erected. It represents the ancient Russian bond tower. Presently there is a museum in the temple.