The Coat of Arms of the Polish period


 The Coat of Arms of the Russian period






Since the 40's of the 14th century Wolyn had been in the hands of the Lithuanian princes. On the seals of a Great Prince Witold the emblem of the Great Lithuanian principality is given in 4 emblems. On one of them there is a picture of a cross. After the Lublin Union in 1569 Wolyn became part of the Polish Kingdom. The emblem of Wolyn province represented an argent cross in a azure field, in the centre of the cross there is azure shield with an argent eagle.


The emblem of Wolynska province was confirmed on the 8th of December 1856. In the middle of the gules field there was an argent cross. On top of the shield there is the Imperial Crown. The shield is surrounded with oak leaves which are connected by the ribbon of the Order of St.Andrew.


Short Description/History

Wolyn, an independent principality between the 10th and14th century, then an autonomous component of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and was ruled largely by its own aristocracy (after the late 14th century). The region became prominent during the 12th century, when many emigrants from the declining Kijow principality settled in Wolynia and its even more westerly neighbour Galicia.

In 1199 Prince Roman of Wolynia(Volhynia) united the two territories into a powerful principality, which dominated Kijow(Kiev). He successfully battled the Poles, Lithuanians, Hungarians, and Polovtsy and was sought as an ally by Byzantium. Roman's son Daniel reunited Wolynia(Volhynia) with Galicia in 1238, unfortunately the union had lapsed after Roman's death, he also built cities (e.g., Lwow), encouraged a flourishing east-west trade through his lands, and fostered the development of fine arts. In 1260, however, Wolynia and Galicia were devastated by a Mongol invasion and forced to recognize the Mongol khan as their overlord.

In the course of the 14th century Wolynia(Volhynia) was absorbed by the Lithuanian state and Galicia by Poland. After the Polish-Lithuanian union of 1569, Wolynia(Volhynia) was ceded to Poland. It remained a Polish territory until the second partition of Poland in 1793 transferred most of it to Russia. After World War I it was divided between Russia and Poland; and after World War II the entire region became part of the Ukrainian S.S.R.

 Wolyn in 1943/45 was also a scene of "Ethnic" cleansing by the Ukrainian nationalists, commonly known as "Banderowcy". They attacked Polish settlements, mainly by night and killed all the inhabitants of that village, not even sparing small children. Approximate number of murdered Poles was in the region of 500.000. An account of one terrible night in a Polish village can be read about in the "Habit i Nagan" page.


  Towns of Wolyn












Nowy Dwor







Towns that lack information

Map of Wolyn Map of Wolyn District Township of Kolki

Village of Lahwa    Church in Okopy    A to Z of Towns/Villages

Maps of Counties



During the inter war years Wolyn consisted of 11 Counties (Powiats): Dubno, Horochow, Kostopol, Kowel, Krzemieniec, Luboml, Luck, Rowne, Sarny, Wlodzimierz and Zdolbunow, for additional information click here.

60th Anniversary of the beginning of Wolyn Massacres



Copyright 2003; Paul Havers